Lisbon’s most beautiful flat: Vintage style at Rita and Pedro’s


Lisbon is a great city full of sights, vitality and sweet treats. But what made my stay there truly special weren’t the many viewpoints, the tasty pasteis de nata or famous Castelo Sao Jorge. What made my time in Lisbon truly unique was the incredibly beautiful flat of Rita and her husband Pedro.

Sure, there are plenty of chic hotels and affordable hostels all over Lisbon. But I’ve been a huge fan of Airbnb for a while now and so I decided to find myself an accomodation from their website. One ad jumped at me right away: “Be a Lisboner“. I took a look at the photos, read a few host reviews…and booked!

Airbnb Lissabon

And I wasn’t going to be disappointed. Before I even started my trip, communication with Pedro and Rita was nothing less than perfect – and since Pedro works at the airport, he personally welcomed me upon my arrival and even drove me to the apartment! On the drive there, Pedro was happily chatting away, telling me about Lisbon and pointing out important things like supermarkets and tram stops close to the flat.

Airbnb Lissabon

When I entered the flat for the first time, I felt like travelling back in time: Vintage through and through with an incredible eye for detail. “Be a Lisboner” became my home away from home from that first moment on because this apartment felt way more personal and welcoming than any hotel room ever could.

Airbnb Lissabon, Portugal

While I walked around the apartment in astonishment, I almost missed the surprise that was waiting for me on the dining table: A box filled with tasty treats from the local bakery including the famous pasteis de nata! Rita and Pedro had really thought of everything that might make a hungry traveller like me a happier person. ;)

Pasteis de Nata

Just as Pedro was about to leave, he asked about my plans for the night. “Not much”, I responded, “probably dinner somewhere”. After a short phone call with his wife, Pedro made an offer that almost knocked me off my feet: “Come with us, we’re going out tonight!” How can I say no to that? :D I quickly freshened up and got back in the car with Pedro, who had picked up Rita and his mother-in-law in the meantime.

But obvisouly we didn’t drive to a restaurant right away: To become a true Lisboner, I had to visit at least one of the city’s many viewpoints on my first day. Rita and Pedro took me to their favourite spot to show me the best view over Lisbon and on our way to dinner we even stopped at another viewpoint. In between all of this, Pedro kept on sharing Lisbon’s secrets with me, told me where the real nightlife happens and to round of an amazing evening we went to the Praca do Comércio together to check out a lightshow. What an evening! I couldn’t have had a better start in Lisbon.

Airbnb Lissabon, Portugal

“A life without travelling is like a room without a window.”

And after my visit to Rita and Pedro’s unique apartment in Lisbon I now know one thing for sure: Vintage never goes out of style.

Airbnb Lissabon, Portugal

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Lissabons schönste Wohnung: Vintage Style bei Rita und Pedro

1

Lissabon ist eine tolle Stadt, voller Sehenswürdigkeiten, Lebensfreude und süßen Leckereien. Doch was meinen Aufenthalt dort so besonders gemacht hat waren nicht die vielen Aussichtspunkte, die leckeren Pasteis de Nata oder das berühmte Castelo Sao Jorge. Was meinen Aufenthalt in Lissabon unvergesslich gemacht hat war die einmalig schöne Wohnung von Rita und ihrem Mann Pedro.

Klar, es gibt eine Menge wirklich schöner Hotels in Lissabon und auch jede Menge erschwingliche Hostels, die ihren Charme haben. Ich bin nun aber schon seit einiger Zeit großer Fan von Airbnb und so suchte ich also auf der Plattform nach einer Unterkunft. Eine Anzeige stach mir dabei gleich ins Auge: “Be a Lisboner” – Sei ein Lissabonner. Fotos angeschaut, Bewertungen gelesen … und gebucht!

Airbnb Lissabon

Und ich sollte nicht enttäuscht werden. Bereits im Vorhinein war die Kommunikation mit Pedro und Rita einfach nur perfekt – und da Pedro am Flughafen arbeitet, wurde ich bei meiner Ankunft sogar persönlich empfangen und zur Wohnung gefahren! Auf dem Weg dorthin erzählte Pedro von Lissabon und zeigte mir die Umgebung der Wohnung, den nächsten Supermarkt und die Haltestellen der Straßenbahn.Airbnb Lissabon

In der Wohnung angekommen fühlte ich mich wie in eine andere Zeit versetzt: Vintage durch und durch mit viel Liebe fürs Detail. “Be a Lisboner” war ab dem ersten Moment mein Zuhause in der Ferne, denn die Wohnung ist einfach so viel persönlicher als es ein Hotelzimmer je sein könnte.

Airbnb Lissabon, Portugal

Während ich staunend durch die Wohnung lief hätte ich fast die Überraschung übersehen, die mich auf dem Esstisch erwartete: Eine Box gefüllt mit Leckereien aus der Bäckerei inklusive den berühmten Pasteis de Nata! Rita und Pedro hatten wirklich an alles gedacht, was eine hungrige Reisende glücklich macht. ;)

Pasteis de Nata

Bevor Pedro mich in der Wohnung alleine ließ fragte er noch, was meine Pläne für den Abend seien. “Nicht viel, vielleicht irgendwo was essen.”, antwortete ich. Nach einem kurzen Telefonat mit Rita machte Pedro mir dann ein Angebot, das mich wirklich umgehauen hat: “Komm doch mit uns weg!” Wie kann ich da denn nein sagen? :D Ich machte mich kurz frisch und stieg dann wieder zu Pedro ins Auto, der zwischenzeitlich auch Rita und seine Schwiegermutter abgeholt hatte.

Aber wir fuhren nicht direkt zum Abendessen, denn um eine echte Lissabonnerin zu werden musste ich an meinem ersten Tag in der Metropole natürlich auch noch einen der vielen Aussichtspunkte besuchen – natürlich den, von dem aus man laut Rita und Pedro den schönsten Ausblick hat. Auf dem Weg zum Abendessen stoppten wir dann sogar noch an einem zweiten Aussichtspunkt, Pedro zeigte mir ein paar seiner “Geheimtipps” für das Nachtleben in Lissabon und zum Abschluss des Abends schauten wir uns noch gemeinsam die Lichtshow auf dem Praca do Comércio an. Was für ein Abend! Einen besseren Start hätte ich in Lissabon kaum haben können.

Airbnb Lissabon, Portugal

“A life without travelling is like a room without a window.”

Und nach meinem Besuch in Lissabon in der einzigartigen Wohnung von Rita und Pedro weiß ich eins nun ganz genau: Vintage never goes out of style.

Airbnb Lissabon, Portugal

One Response

    Hinterlasse eine Antwort

    Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *